Our Practitioners

Here you will find background information on our specialists and assistants.

We consider that an effective team environment is essential for consistent safe outcomes, and our surgical teams work closely with our anaesthetists and the specialist neurosurgery theatre staff at Calvary Lenah Valle`y, to create and maintain that environment.

dr_andrew_hunn-newMr Andrew Hunn

Mr Andrew Hunn has extensive experience in cranial neurosurgery, in adults and children. He has particular interest and experience in the management of tumours of the pituitary gland, acoustic neuroma surgery , surgery of the pineal region, Chiari malformation treatment and complex vascular surgery.

He also has extensive experience in the management of peripheral nerve and brachial plexus lesions.

Mr Nova Thani

Mr Nova Thani is an Australian trained neurosurgeon, with adult and pediatric experience in cranial and peripheral nerve surgeries.

His expertise includes the surgical management of brain tumours, skull base lesions, cerebral aneurysms, vascular malformations, CSF flow disorders, trigeminal neuralgia, peripheral nerve tumours and entrapments.

Mr Thani has trained in microsurgery and endoscopic surgery and has a special interest in stereotactic navigation of the deep brain regions.

Ms Imogen Ibbett

Ms Ibbett is an Australian trained and qualified neurosurgeon. She has completed a cerebrovascular fellowship at the Queen Elizabeth Hospital Birmingham in the UK.

Ms Ibbett has a particular interest in the management of cerebral aneurysms and arteriovenous malformations of the brain. She has extensive experience in the management of these conditions in both the emergency and elective setting.

Ms Ibbett also has expertise in surgery for brain tumours, cerebrospinal fluid disorders including endoscopic surgery, trigeminal neuralgia and peripheral nerve entrapment.

Dr Hayden Bell

Dr Bell is a native of Hobart and completed his medical degree at the University of Tasmania.

Following completion of specialty training in South Australia/Northern Territory he joined the neurosurgical departments at Westmead and Royal North Shore Hospital in Sydney and underwent a further two year neuro-endovascular fellowship. Here he gained experience in all aspects of neurovascular intervention including cerebral and spinal angiography, cerebral aneurysm repair, arterial thrombectomy for acute large vessel occlusion in stroke, carotid stenting, endovascular vasospasm management, venous thrombectomy and AVM/DAVF embolisation.

Patient safety and open honest communication are core beliefs which guide his everyday practice.

dr_peter_sayersDr Peter Sayers

Dr Sayers is an independent specialist anaesthetist who has been in practice in Hobart for over 20 years. He has extensive experience in the anaesthesia of spinal and neurosurgical conditions.

dr_mathew_yarrowDr Mat Yarrow


Dr Yarrow is a specialist anaesthetist who trained at the Royal North Shore Hospital Sydney and The Royal Infirmary, Edinburgh. He commenced anaesthetic practice in Hobart in 2007, and practices in public and private facilities in Hobart.

He has particular interest in neuroanaesthesia, investigation of anaesthetic allergies, and developing world anaesthesia, including teaching in Nepal, Laos, Samoa, and Vietnam, where he was part of a visiting neurosurgical team.

Mr Anders Bown
(BMSci, MBBS (Hons), FANZCA)

Dr Bown is a specialist anaesthetist working in private facilities in Hobart. He completed his specialist training in Queensland and Tasmania. He was awarded the Cecil Gray Prize in 2012 for excellence during his specialist training. He has a particular interest in spinal and neurosurgical anesthesia

Dr Paul Thompson